Diocese of El Paso Announces New Pastoral Assignments

June 06, 2022

Every year the Bishop works with the Priest Personnel Board, an advisory body made up of experienced priests who are representatives of the Diocese, to make decisions about new assignments. The moves are designed to meet the needs of the parishes and fulfill pastoral needs.

“The movement of priests and deacons is an important part of their service to the Church. Transitions are never easy for clergy or for their communities, so I ask the members of the communities that are going through a change to help make that transition as smooth as possible — supporting, thanking and assisting the deacon or priest who is moving to a new assignment, and warmly welcoming the one who is joining their community", Bishop Seitz said.

Bishop Mark Seitz has made the following appointments and announcements.

Reverend Monsignor Arturo Bañuelas, Pastor of St. Mark, is retiring, effective July 15
Reverend José Morales - Pastor, St. Mark, effective July 15

Reverend Michael Lewis - Administrator, Most Holy Trinity, effective June 24
Reverend Victorino Loresca - Administrator, St. Mary (Marfa, Texas), effective June 24
Reverend Miguel Perez - Administrator, Holy Spirit, effective July 15
Reverend Ray Finch, MM - Administrator, Cristo Rey, effective August 1

Reverend Astry Déraly - Parochial Vicar, St. Matthew, effective June 15
Reverend César Garcia - Parochial Vicar, St. Mark, effective June 24
Reverend Sergio Legarretta - Parochial Vicar, St. Frances Xavier Cabrini, effective June 24
Reverend Iván Montelongo - Parochial Vicar, St. Stephen, effective July 1
Reverend Edroud Jean - Parochial Vicar, St. Raphael, effective July 1
Reverend José William Aravelo Narvaez, Parochial Vicar, St. Patrick Cathedral, effective July 18
Reverend José Vera - Parochial Vicar, Most Holy Trinity, effective August 1
Reverend Cong Vo - Parochial Vicar, St. Patrick Cathedral, effective August 1

Transitional Deacons
Deacon Ángel Aguilar, Queen of Peace, effective immediately
Deacon Ángel Tarango, St. Stephen, effective immediately
Deacon Loyd Divinagracia, Holy Spirit, effective July 17

Back to All News